Local Representatives

Gillespie Airport Staff

Peter Drinkwater

Peter Drinkwater, Director of County Airports, Department of Public Works

Reports to Supervisor Dianne Jacob. He is responsible for the management of all County Airport ground facilities and has input to FAA on flight patterns.

(619) 956-4839

Image Not Available

Marc Baskel, Gillespie Field Manager

Reports to Peter Drinkwater. Has input to the FAA on flight patterns and handles resident complaints.

(619) 956-4805

Image Not Available

John Otto, Gillespie Field Assistant Manager

Mark Baskel and handles resident complaints in addition to other responsibilities.

(619) 956-4810

El Cajon Representation

Mayor Mark Lewis
  • Mayor of El Cajon, Mark Lewis
  • El Cajon City Council
  • Gillespie Field Development Council. Meetings are held on the 3rd Tuesday of the month at 6:00 p.m. in the City Council Chambers.

The land surrounding Gillespie Field is owned by the City of El Cajon. While the City has no jurisdiction over aircraft in flight, lessees must obtain various permits through the city and are subject to city codes and ordinances.

San Diego County Board of Supervisors

Supervisor Diane Jacob

Supervisor Dianne Jacob & San Diego County Board of Supervisors

Supervisor Dianne Jacob and the San Diego County Board of Supervisors, under the direction of the Federal Aviation Administration:

  • Manage county Gillespie ground facilities
  • Lead the redevelopment/expansion
  • Have input to FAA on flight patterns and their altitudes
  • Certify redevelopment/expansion plans

Meetings are held Tuesday and Wednesday of each week, 9:00 am, at the San Diego Administration Building, 1600 Pacific Highway.

State Representatives

Brian Jones

State Assemblyman, 77th District

Assemblyman Brian Jones



Joel Anderson

State Senator, 36th District

State Senator Joel Anderson




San Diego County Airport Authority (SDCRAA)

The San Diego County Regional Airport Authority was created, under state authority, on January 1, 2003, as an independent agency to manage the day-to-day operations of San Diego International Airport and address the region’s long-term air transportation needs.

The legislation that created the Airport Authority mandates three main responsibilities:

  • Operate San Diego International Airport
  • Plan for the future air transportation needs of the region
  • Serve as the region’s Airport Land Use Commission – and ensure the adoption of land use plans that protect public health and safety surrounding all 16 of the county’s airports

Public Meetings: The first Thursday of every month, at 9:00am, on the third floor of the commuter terminal at the San Diego International Airport.

SDCRAA Advisory Committee

The committee was formed to assist the Airport Authority Board in carrying out its responsibilities in the planning and development of all airport facilities for San Diego County. It is a diverse group with many areas of expertise. Some residential groups have input.

Airport Technical Advisory Committee (ATAG)

Formed under auspices of the SDCRA to allow interested parties input to the SDCRAA as they developed Airport Land Use Compatibility Plans for SDIA and the county airports. Some residential community groups had input.

Regional Aviation Strategic Plan (RASP) Subcommittee

This committee provides input and feedback on the technical aspects of the RASP. As was mandated by Senate Bill 10, authored by Senator Christine Kehoe and passed in 2007, RASP requires that the Airport Authority, in collaboration with the San Diego Association of Governments (SANDAG), identify workable strategies to improve the performance of the regional airport system.


Federal Representatives

California Federal Congressional Representatives

Susan Davis

U.S. House of Representatives, 53rd Congressional District

Susan Davis



Duncan D. Hunter

U.S. House of Representatives, Congressional District 52

Duncan D. Hunter



Barbara Boxer

U.S. Senate

Senator Barbara Boxer



Diane Feinstein

U.S. Senate

Senator Diane Feinstein



FAA Logo

Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)

Taypayer funds for the FAA are controlled by our representatives in the House and Senate. The FAA is responsible for:

  • Mechanical conditions of aircraft
  • Safety of aircraft in flight
  • Pilot flight discipline
  • Flight patterns and altitude safety
  • Airport design and construction

The FAA is funded in large measure by the aviation industry and ourselves, the taxpayers.